What Writers Need to Know

I know it has been awhile since I have blogged about my progress in implementing the frame work of Power Writing, so please bare with me as I ramble through what I have done over the last few weeks.

The first big idea,  introduces the students to writing like a reader, is what writers need to know.  In this lesson, we discussed why writers write and what readers do when they read.   When readers read they think, feel, make connections, ask questions, visualize, infer and transform their thinking.   These are things that the writer needs to keep in mind.After this lesson was taught we now think about writing as a reader and make our writing invite the readers to think.

A good poem to discuss and invite them to think about writing as a reader is the poem “invitation” by Shel Silverstein.  When discussing this poem I probed the students thinking with questions like who the invitation is from? Who it is to? and a discussion of what Come in, Come in means.

After this lesson the students created an invitation to their “Thinking Party”.  The activity was a great way to get them to write and create an invitation to a party.  My favorite part of this is the student creativity of the invitation.  I plan on creating a bulletin board with their invitations in the hallway, so it invites other readers to read the students’ writing.  I will post a picture as soon as it is up, so you as readers can also enjoy the creativity of my students work.

About Candy

Mother, Wife, Elementary Teacher, Grad student. Looking foward to using this blog as a reflection of my professional learning.
This entry was posted in Writing Power and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

