Blogging and Me

It has been awhile since I have taken the time to blog.  I started blogging when I was a teacher librarian and tried to write summary of books and relate the them to other books students might have read, so students would be interested in taking more books out of the library therefore increasing circulation.  I found this blog hard to keep up as an individual, so I got students to blog about the books they read for other students; again this seemed to not keep my blog updated like I wanted to, so back to the drawing board I went.  For the above blog I used blogger.com.

Blog number 2 was started just a couple of years ago, when I was under supervision in the school and used wordpress.  We got to choose what type of supervision we wanted.  Did I want my principal to come into my classroom or did I want to do a self study?  I chose to do a self study and keep a blog as my learning log; hence an educators learning log was born.  On here you will find my past blogs when I implemented an instructional strategy called power writing.  I enjoy this strategy in grade 5/6 as it gives me a layout to teach writing with reading skills.

I have blogged with grade 5/6’s and want to continue blogging with them, but need more creative ideas to get them to write down their thoughts as blogging will help with their writing skills.  I have tried having them blog about books, current events, internet safety, and things we have been doing in the classroom.  I’m looking forward to learning more about classroom blogs and getting the students to have a positive online presence; as well as teaching them about the power of the internet.

sincerely

a begin again blogger

About Candy

Mother, Wife, Elementary Teacher, Grad student. Looking foward to using this blog as a reflection of my professional learning.
This entry was posted in ECand I 831 Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

