The basics

After watching, a few videos I decided to stick with the video below to learn the basics of crocheting.

First I practised the chaining and the single crochet

Start of Chain

Start of Chain

It took me a few tries to get the slip knot on to the hook to start the chain.  I needed to watch the video a couple of times and then chained.

The ChainI chained about 20 here in the picture and then started adding single crochet or SC for short in pattern reading.

Single Crochet

up next was practising the double crochet of DC for short in pattern reading.

Double

The Double

The double crochet is like making 2 SC on top of one another.

Triple Crochet or TC

The Triple

The Triple

As you can see the stitches get larger.

The Half

The Half 

This last stitch is called the Half Double Crochet or HDC.

The above stitches are the basics to all crocheting.  It is with these stitches you can create patterns and make a variety of products.  Some of the products you can make are:

  • afghans
  • scarves
  • beanie hats
  • headbands
  • baby booties
  • dish clothes

Some of the projects I would like to complete this term are:

  1. Baby Afghan
  2. Beanie hat
  3. Infinity Scarf
  4. Headband
  5. Baby Headband

My challenge is going to be to get the Afghan complete this semester as there is little time in the day to sit and crochet. Keep posted for pictures of ongoing projects.

 

 

 

About Candy

Mother, Wife, Elementary Teacher, Grad student. Looking foward to using this blog as a reflection of my professional learning.
This entry was posted in Crocheting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The basics

  1. andreaneeder says:

    Once my Masters is complete (December 4) I really want to learn to crochet. I admire your efforts. I will also be looking to use your resources to help me. Good work!!

Leave a Reply

