Network Identity

“In a networked age, identity is not so simply determined. Your identity is actually multivariate, distributed and partly out of your control. Who you know shapes who you are,” says Hoffman. With Zynga, Mark Pincus intended to create a gaming network: games that would become part of how people connect with each other. Those people playing Zynga games don’t think of themselves as gamers, but the games they play nonetheless become part of their identity. ” Helen Walters

“The self as we once knew it has ceased to exist. An abstract digital universe is now a part of our identity.” Abha Dawesar

When you think of  identity what comes to mind and how do you portray the identity on and offline? When I think of my own identity, I attach it to the many hats I wear in my personal and professional life. I express my identity through my actions, words, beliefs. For example, part of my identity is learner.  As a learner I am taking university class and attend professional development of choice and division directed throughout the school year. Tonight we had the privilege of learning from Bonnie Stewart (@bonstewart) discussing network identity.  I was curious to see what would pop up on a Google search of Network Identity and I received information on IP addresses and TCP. This is NOT what Bonnie discussed at all.  On to the next search which was digital identity or on-line identity are the terms most of us are familiar with.  She gave the class a lot to think about and the chat room lit up once again with interesting readings dealing with network identity.  One of the most interesting things in this discussion was to not ask “What do you want to do?” but ask “What do you want to contribute?”  There were many ideas the class wanted to contribute themed around caring, sharing and learning.  We are generally remembered for not what we did in the world but what we contributed to those we are connected with whether it be in person or on-line.

Not only as teachers do we need to teach our students how to be citizens in the “real” world but also in the “digital” world.  There are many stories in the news of bullying, suicide because of cyberbullying and threats because someone didn’t like what you said.

A few of the stories which came across the chat:

The sextortion of Amanda Todd

Gamergate

Troubled at the Koolaid Point

Some still believe the networked identity creates an augmented reality.  Nathan Jurgenson makes some good points in his blog titled “Digital Dualism vs. Augmented Reality”  For me digital dualism does not exist as I use social media to connect with those in my physical life.  My grandma, step mom, and dad have found the social network of Facebook as a way to keep track of family since we are now spread over a large land mass. I have found and kept in touch with high school friends. It is nice to see what they have been up to over the last few years and what they are up to weekly, sometimes it is as if we still live in the same community.  Professionally I am connecting and learning from educators whom I would not even think of connecting with at a conference.

Companies are also using social media to connect with consumers.  Companies are using platforms like Facebook to push products that I might like. For example, if I like share or comment on a friends posting I get four more options below to like, share or comment on. The writing entitled “I Like Everything on Facebook” is a great example of how the news feed changes based on liking everything on Facebook.  It definitely opens your eyes to being aware of what is happening on Facebook.  The other thing is Facebook is constantly changing the “small print” on their site. Settings are important on facebook as some of the settings give the rights to the pictures and videos you share with your network of friends.  Bonnie stated Twitter is looking into something similar.  I’m already trying to figure out how NOT to get advertisements coming through my feed. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

 

About Candy

Mother, Wife, Elementary Teacher, Grad student. Looking foward to using this blog as a reflection of my professional learning.
This entry was posted in ECand I 831 Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

