Many, Many Hours

clock
Photo Credit: 140proof via Compfight cc

Time is ticking away faster, and faster each day. Learned the basics of crocheting a few weeks ago and thought I would tackle a baby afghan before my daughter got to big for it. It will also serve as a keep sake. While I was growing up, I got the opportunity to have many hand made items and cherished each and every one of them and I want my daughter to experience the same thing. I’m finding kids do not appreciate what they have and I believe things that are made with love are the most precious as you never know when someone you love will not be around. I still have my babe afghan which my dad’s mom made for me.

What I didn’t expect?

I didn’t think it would take me what feels like forever to complete an afghan. It would probably help if could complete a row without making mistakes. I do not catch that I have dropped a stitch until I am well into the next row, so I end ripping out and re-crocheting about a row and a half. My grandmothers made crocheting look so easy (at least from what I remember). I guess it is going to take lots of practice and time to become really good at crocheting. I now have a row taking me about 20 minutes to . I guess all that ripping and redoing decreased the amount of time as I am now almost complete. I have about 15 rows left to make and then the blanket is done. Yahoo!

Things I’ve learned

1. it takes hours to create a beautiful afghan
2. I can whip up a fashionable head band in about 30 minutes
3. Yarn is expensive, so use it wisely
4. Do not crochet while my daughter is up as she likes to play with the yarn ball
5. I can learn from watching a video, but it is nice to have someone right beside me to help me out.

Goals for the week:

1. Finish afghan (less than 20 rows to go)
2. start and complete an infinity scarf (need to go get yarn and a bigger hook)
3. create a video and add it to this blog

About Candy

Mother, Wife, Elementary Teacher, Grad student. Looking foward to using this blog as a reflection of my professional learning.
This entry was posted in Crocheting, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Many, Many Hours

  1. I remember watching my mother having to rip out a complete row when there was that minor error … although, she only mildly seemed frustrated at times. I always wondered about that – calming yet frustrating at the same time.

    Thanks for your post!

Leave a Reply

