Being a Connected Educator

199339463_60949cb8ee
Photo Credit: vaXzine via Compfight cc

What does being a connected educator mean to you? Alec Couros talk at the end of the semester  really helped sum up what being connected means to me. Being connected means:

1. Being vulnerable

2. Putting yourself out there professionally and personally

3. Leaving a positive digital footprint (digital citizenship)

4. Contributing

5. Learning

6. Changing

7. Time

The part about being connected which scares me the most is being vulnerable. The ECI831 has helped ease some of the vulnerability through a positive on-line learning experience. I am no longer afraid to state my opinion, share my learning experience, and ask questions.

As I start the planning process to return to work, I will definitely be thinking about teaching digital citizenship to my 5/6’s. I want them to know how to be a positive role model for other human beings. I want to let the world into my classroom a little bit more than I have in the past. I want my students to become better writers and blogging will allow that to become a reality as the more I read and write the better I become. It also helps to have people comment. I want my students to have a voice in the online world. I want them to be heard and know they can do more than just play games and watch youtube videos. I have a lot of thinking and reorganizing of my unit plans, so I can start the process of being a sideways classroom. How does being a connected educator help you in your classroom?

About Candy

Mother, Wife, Elementary Teacher, Grad student. Looking foward to using this blog as a reflection of my professional learning.
This entry was posted in ECand I 831 Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Being a Connected Educator

  1. barber3c says:

    Candy, my vulnerability was my biggest issue, too. I am already a private person, and I wasn’t good with technology. Knowing that I had to put myself out there caused me some anxiety. But, I just needed that push (maybe a BIG push) and I quickly found out that making mistakes is okay, that putting your thoughts out there is part of the process and is the foundation for learning and growing. Being a connected educator has I think helped me gain some respect from my students. They see the effort I am putting in to making my lessons fun, relevant and modern. Technology has helped me connect Math to real-life, and I rarely hear the question “where are we going to use this??????” anymore. Another misconception I had was about time. I thought that incorporating technology meant pouring hours into a lesson, and I frankly didn’t have the time or patience for it. I quickly learned that putting in just a bit more time here and there can have long term effects and can actually SAVE time, afterall!

Leave a Reply

